• Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

2015 Winner: Clara Duran


ARTIQ were very excited to announce that the winner of 2015’s Graduate Art Prize is talented visual artist Clara Durán from Camberwell College of Arts. Clara was awarded the £1,000 prize at a prestigious event at co-sponsor Herbert Smith Freehills’ offices, in the heart of the City of London.


The judges were extremely impressed with Clara’s representation of raw emotion and use of luminous hues and subtle chrome colours, a view which was clearly shared by the general public. ARTIQ’s state-of-the-art voting tool gained a lot of attention in the last few days of voting, with literally thousands of people signing up to register their opinion.

‘El vapor nace en el silencio’ (Vapour is born in silence) takes the theme of water as inspiration to talk about the liquid modernity we live in- a fast and fragile society. Clara states: “We are water in a much higher level; it is our connector to the universe, and the memory of our planet carried through our bodies. Using photography as the main medium, I push its boundaries, and integrate other media such as painting, poetry and performance.”


Through concentration and deep breathing, Clara performs the complexity of an emotion, being captured only the result, a snap of the performance. The paper is then painted with a fast brushstroke, and when dried, the photograph is printed on the painted paper, being the photograph what prevails. Poetry is subtly integrated through the title.


Having graduated from an MA in Visual Arts: Fine Art Digital from Camberwell College of Arts this year, Clara looks set for a bright career in the arts.



  1. Ally McIntyre (Goldsmiths, University of London)

  2. Amanda Aspeborg (Kingston University)

  3. Checka Levi Morenos (Leeds College of Art)

  4. Clara Durán (Camberwell College of Arts)

  5. Fiona Patchett (Buckinghamshire New University)

  6. George Rouy (Camberwell College of Arts)

  7. Kat Hughes (Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design)

  8. Kyounghee Lee (Goldsmiths, University of London)

  9. Hanqing Ma (Royal College of Art)

  10. Huw Janes (Loughborough University)

  11. Jinyong Park (Royal College of Art)

  12. Ira Hoffecker (University of Gloucestershire)

  13. Joanna Hulin (Falmouth University)

  14. Joe Munro (University of the West of England)

  15. Yucheng Ji (Royal College of Art)

  16. Kennis Chan (Royal College of Art)

  17. Lucy Wheeler (Loughborough University)

  18. Robin Kang (Slade School of Fine Art)

  19. Scarlet Müller (Royal College of Art)

  20. Sebastian Koseda (Royal College of Art)


Download the 2015 catalogue here.