• Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Vimeo Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon



Charlotte Aiken, a graduate from The Sir John Cass School of Art, Architecture and Design at London Metropolitan University, has been named as the winner of The Graduate Art Prize 2017. Charlotte was awarded the £1,000 prize, along with the offer to sign up as an artist with ARTIQ at a prestigious event held on 8th November 2017 at Herbert Smith Freehills’ offices, in the heart of the City of London.

This year saw a shortlist of 26 artists and artworks selected from an increasing pool of high-quality submissions, with an incredible 87% increase this year in overall submissions, compared to 2016.

Charlotte’s winning artwork is a large-scale, three-part abstract painting (created using acrylic paints on canvas), with each one of the three paintings measuring 2.22m x 1.4m. Her piece centres on the notion of infinity, as exemplified by the representation of the sky. Her overpoweringly large-scale pieces allow her to work in an aggressive, physical manner and she prefers to use decorating brushes to apply the paint to accentuate imperfection and texture, recreating an impression of the sky rather than an accurate portrayal. The precise abstract lines running across and interrupting the vastness are symbolic self-representations, inspired by electricity wires running through the sky.

Charlotte Aiken commented on her win: ‘I'm overwhelmed and excited to have won this award, and I'm so grateful for all the support and votes I received.  This award provides me with the chance to launch my career as an artist and I feel so lucky to be given this opportunity by ARTIQ.  I can't wait to begin!’



1)    Alexander Glass (Royal College of Art)
2)    Alysia Webster (Aberystwyth University)
3)    Charlotte Aiken (The Sir John Cass School of Art)
4)    Chris Hawkes (University of Brighton)
5)    Ellie Walker (University of Brighton)
6)    Emily Watson (University of Dundee)
7)    Freddie Denton (University of Brighton)
8)    Goia Amorim (Royal College of Art)
9)    Hannah Coyle (Chelsea College of Arts)
10)    Jasmine Vorley (University of Brighton)
11)    Jemma Lock (Loughborough University)
12)    Jessica Rimondi (University of Westminster)
13)    Karen Loader (City and Guilds of London Art School)
14)    Katherine Perrins (City and Guilds of London Art School)
15)    Laura Frances Coyne (Leeds Arts University)
16)    Marianne Casmose Denning (Central Saint Martins)
17)    Minyoung Choi (Slade School of Fine Art)
18)    Oliver Guyon (Bath Spa University)
19)    Rania Schoretsaniti (Slade School of Fine Art)
20)    Robyn Nichol (Lancaster University)
21)    Ross Miller (University of Dundee)
22)    Sam Elston (University of Southampton)
23)    Siobhan Wynter (University of Brighton)
24)    Sooeon Jeong (University of Brighton)
25)    Tilda Hamilton-Ivory (University of Brighton)
26)    Zsofia Jakab (Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design)


Download the 2017 catalogue here.